Loss

I cry for a dream I once hadcrying-gold

Held softly in my sight

A dream of you and me

I cry for the two lives we made

That I struggle to contain

I cry for the loneliness of without you

I cry for the love I thought we had

That mocks me from the sidelines now

The shame I feel at my lack

I cry for what I gave in trust

That I would so receive

I will not heed

My Mothers words again.

I cry that I couldn’t be the one

For you, for us to make a four

And not a three

Missing that piece

Missing our peace, our life together

I cry for the fact that her love

Is what you want

I am not the one who makes you sing

These days

Or makes you cry.

What loss am I, I ask

It seems none to you

And I cry.

For the loss of my misplaced dreams

And the two lives

That I struggle to contain

Within my troubled walls


2016

Leave a comment